Picture
Kids love games.  Mix it with a bit of learning, and you will have their attention.  I created a game that merges surfing with subjects and predicates.  Reading Street is such a drab approach to various subjects, that the game brings a fresh mix to the day.   Along with tantalizing pictures of massive waves and surfers (either riding a wave or crashing pending studnets' responses), I incorporated the students' names in each sentence.  This captivated their attention and peaked their interest in each slide.  I shared this with the other teachers in my grade and their classes loved it!  
I am in the process of changing a few things.  I need to distinguish between complete subjects/predicates and simple subjects and predicates.  I am also looking into changing the font and style of the text linked with a hypertext.  Each hypertext became underlined, blue, and would change to a fuchsia if selected.  I also had to finagle how each word was selected so the underline would not break and hint to the answer.  The last item i am currently revising are the pictures for each slide.  I need more of a variety on the correct answer slides.  PowerPoint does not make this easy.  Each time I set a picture for the background, I have to go through the labyrinth of files to find the location.  For some reason, it doesn't remember the previous pathway.  This makes setting the pictures tedious. Regardless, the students really enjoyed it, and they finished the lesson with a better understanding of subjects and predicates.






Leave a Reply.