Picture
After talking about our reading and discussing the info therein, we had roughly an hour and a half to work on our Thematic Unit. I honestly wish we had mor time to work on this.  I completely understand that this is a demanding course, but it is incredibly difficult to work on this outside of the class.  I am using my time wisely and working on this while planning for my class.  I feel like I am jumping through hoops.  Feels like i'm in finals week while teaching full-time.

We were given a great ebook.  Teach Like a Champion provides 49 techniques to help regulate our classroom.  This is something that I would like to read cover to cover.  For the time being, we basically jigsawed various items in the book.  9 groups were created and assigned to a specific chapter.  Each group then selected 3-4 techniques from the chapter and set up a presentation/skit.  It was a great intro to the book, but again, I would like to read this in depth.  The video at the beginning of my blog gives a great overview of techniques actually implemented into classrooms across the nation. Here is a list of the topics covered by each group.

Group 1: Ch. 1 Setting High Academic Expectations
  • No Excuses
  • Right is Right
  • Stretch It
Group 2: Ch. 2 Planning that Ensures Academic Achievement 
  • Begin With the End
  • Post It
  • Draw the Map
Group 3: Ch.3 Structuring and Delivering your Lessons 
  • Circulate
  • Board = Paper
  • Exit Ticket
Group 4: Ch. 4 Engaging Students in Your Lessons 
  • Cold Call
  • Call and Response
  • Vegas!
Group 5: Ch. 5 Creating a Strong Classroom Culture 
  • Entry Routine
  • Binder Control
  • SLANT - Sit up, Listen, Alert, Nod, Track the Speaker *THIS IS MY FAVORITE*Tight Transitions
  • Tight Transitions


Group 6: Ch. 6 Setting and Maintaining High Behavioral Expectations Threshold
  • What to Do
  • Sweat the Details
  • Sweat the Details
Group 7: Ch. 7 Building Character and Trust 
  • Positive Framing
  • Precise Praise
  • Warm/Strict
  • The J-Factor
  • Emotional Constancy
  • Explain Everything
  • Normalize Error
Group 8: Ch. 8 Improving Your Pacing 
  • Change the Pace
  • Every Minute Matters
  • Work the Clock
Group 9: Ch. 9 Challenging Student to Think Critically
  • Hit Rate
  • Clear and Concise
  • Verbatim (No Bate and Switch)


I plan on implementing these into my classroom.  I think i will try SLANT and parts of working the clock.  I really like the idea of gathering the entire classes attention with a simply word.  I am also thinking of other words i could use that could have a similar effect.  I think I will begin using SLANT and transition into another word that will elaborate on this word.




Leave a Reply.